Voortman’s Blog

March 8, 2009

How Safeway lost a customer over a donut

Filed under: Reading — voortman @ 7:28 pm

Ranting and raving gets things off your chest.  I feel that it does help to write things down so they don’t keep swimming around in your head.  You don’t have to worry about someone listening to you because, if they want to read about it, they will, if not you will never know.  I was amazed at the different sites there are about rants on many different topics. 

In reading the article, it made me think of the donut incident I had at Safeway.  There was a sign on the outside of the glass donut case that said 3.99 per dozen, so I rounded up 2 dozen donuts for my employees and went to the register.  The guy rang me up and said, “that will be $15.98″  I said that there was a sign on the case that said 3.99.  He told me that was only for stores that had in house bakeries and did not apply to his store.  How was I to know this and why would they put up a sign that did not apply at their location. He refused to give me the price and I asked for the manager.  He gave me the same runaround.  I tried to show him the case but he said he knew the sign was there and was not going to remove it because it does not apply to his store.  I argued and said that it was false advertising which he sidestepped but would not give them to me at the reduced price.  UGH!!!  I said a few choice words and went down the street to QFC where I paid the price on the sitcker of 6.99.   I will never go into that store again. Looking online I found many hate sites for safeway but thought this one to be very amusing  http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=safeway  on how they defined safeway.  ANother site that I actually put into my favorites when I was searching was http://www.retail-sucks.com/index.php

I think that these sites are a good way for people to let off steam as long as it is factual information and not slander.

On a side note from the second article, I have a remote for the tv, dvd, cable, sound system, sound for the home computer, the ceiling fan in our bedroom, the window above our front door that we need a ladder to reach, and a large universal prank one I got for my husband because he kept losing them all.  When does it stop?

Questions-

Do you believe that these “hate” sites are beneficial to others or are they more for amusement?  Have you ever contributed to one of these sites?  If so which ones?

“video killed the radio star” Do you think that internet will kill the use of TIVO or DVD recorders?  Why?

“We haven’t become more like machines. We’ve made the machines more like us. ”  Do you agree or disagree with this statement?  Give examples in your own life to support your statement.

2 Comments »

  1. I had the exact same unpleasant experience. My local Safeway store: 6445 Pacific Ave. Stockton, Ca. 95207. Sign states 1 doz. assorted donuts $5.99. The cashier at the register charged my daughter $8.29. My daughter attempted to explain the cashier that the sign clearly stated $5.99, to no avail. She told me that the cashier was rude and would not adjust the price. I have been a frequent shopper of this Safeway but may not start going elsewhere.

    Comment by BDesantiago — March 15, 2012 @ 7:36 pm

  2. I had the exact same unpleasant experience. My local Safeway store: 6445 Pacific Ave. Stockton, Ca. 95207. Sign states 1 doz. assorted donuts $5.99. The cashier at the register charged my daughter $8.29. My daughter attempted to explain the cashier that the sign clearly stated $5.99, to no avail. She told me that the cashier was rude and would not adjust the price. I have been a frequent shopper of this Safeway but may start going elsewhere.

    Comment by BDesantiago — March 15, 2012 @ 7:36 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Banana Smoothie Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

